Michel Foucault

He refused to identify himself as a philosopher, historian, structuralist, or Marxist, maintaining that “The main interest in life and work is to become someone else that you were not in the beginning.”[17] In a similar vein, he preferred not to claim that he was presenting a coherent and timeless block of knowledge; he rather desired his books “to be a kind of tool-box others can rummage through to find a tool they can use however they wish in their own area… I don’t write for an audience, I write for users, not readers.”

Michel Foucault

Foucault’s life was amazing.

Yesterday I wikied Michel Foucault while writing an email to my advisor, who wrote a book simply titled “Michel Foucault“. If there is anything that I cannot afford but still think is cheap, it must be a book. Although I am not a book worm, I think I have enough respect for books. They can be greater than life.

Leave a Reply

